When you give away your files…

I must give credit to Michael Lloyd as he was the photographer who took this picture.  He is a wedding photographer and (as many photographers do these days, including myself), gave the bride all of the high resolution files on a disk.  Thus making it possible for me to get a hold of the file and do some photoshop magic to it–crop, clone and filtered-creating this sweet image of the flower girl who had waited patiently to show off her dress to the bride.  The opinion of many photographers to give away their files is extremely frowned upon.  Personally if I were a customer, I would appreciate them which is why I do it.  I have to make a small announcement that I am going to begin limiting my portrait sessions and will not be taking new clients after the first of the year.  BUT that’s not to say this blog will die nor will my photography passion…I am on the brink of starting an exciting new branch to my business, stay tuned!

Oh, and by the way….for those of you who are visiting (and I know you are out there!), I’d love to hear from you.  Don’t be shy, post a reply!  And thanks, as always, for visiting. 🙂

3 Responses to When you give away your files…

  1. Rachel and I really appreciated you giving us the original images when you did those shots of Emma. It’s nice to know we have them, if we ever need to make more prints down the line. Thanks!

    And definitely keep the blog going – we’d miss you if you stopped posting! 🙂

  2. courtneyblog says:

    Don’t worry! I will definitely keep on blogging! Thanks for the reply, I’d love to see more actually post in the blog instead of responding by email.

    Here is a link to the hyped issue of photographers giving their digital files away:

    http://ilovephotography.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=178361

    This topic comes up constantly on this forum. The points made are good, but I truly believe if you are in business then you need to satisfy your customer which is why I offer the files. The customer can buy them or not. If I say that in the forum though I might get my head chewed off-it’s happened before. Cheers!

  3. courtneyblog says:

    Oops, sorry. I just realized you have to be a logged in member of the forum to read….it’s free in your interested. if not, just take my word for it. It’s a bitter subject 🙂

Leave a Reply

